If you had lots of money, what would you buy?

Activity 1

Read carefully and answer the questions:

Jeanie, United States
One thing I really wish I had enough money to buy is actually a new home for my mother, because she has done so much for me in life and I feel like I’d like to do something really special for her. Aside from that, as far as for me personally I’d like to have enough money just to be able to travel the world.

1.      What does she want to buy?

2.      Why?

3.      What else would she like to do?

Naomi, Australia
I wish I had enough money to buy a new car. Actually the car I drive around now is a 1983 Suburu wagon which is full of rust, but it does go pretty well. It’s smooth and the engine sounds nice but it’s very rusty and looks awful.

1.      What does she want to buy?

2.      Why does she want a new one?

Mark, United States
If money were no object, and money were not a problem, I would like to buy a boat. That’s sort of my dream, one day, I will have enough money and I will buy a boat. There’s something about when I’m on the water in a boat I just feel completely relaxed, yeah, and definitely, that’s what I’d buy if I had the money. In terms of anything smaller, or something that I could buy these days, maybe a plane ticket to another country cause I really like to travel.

1.      What does he want to buy?

2.      Why does he like being on boats?

Simon, Canada
One thing that I would like to buy if I had enough money, or if I had enough money to buy something, I would buy an island, which would mean that I got a lot of money to basically to be the king of a place. You know some people like to buy houses. I want to have an island.

1.      What would Simon buy?

2.      Why would he buy it?

Activity 2

Write a short paragraph (6o words), where you answer to the question “If you had lots of money, what would you buy?” and argument “why”.

Responder

